2014 Freedman Classical Fellowship Nominees Announced | The Music Trust

Freedman Classical Fellow for 2013, flautist Lina Andonovska

Freedman Classical Fellow for 2013, flautist Lina Andonovska

These are the nominees for 2014, along with a brief excerpt from the comments by the nominator.

  • Anthony Albrecht, historical cello. “In 2012 Anthony was accepted into The Juilliard School’s Historical Performance program on full scholarship, resulting in performances with Monica Huggett, Jordi Savall and Richard Egarr…”
  • Amy Brookman, violin.Together with three other like-minded wonderfully spirited and talented musicians at ANAM, she created the “Penny Quartet” and are making advances faster than any other group I have ever witnessed at ANAM.”
  • Glen Christensen, violin.He recently formed the Lyrebird Trio, undertook a  3 month residency with the trio at Banff Arts in Canada, and won the prestigious Asia-Pacific Chamber Music Competition.”
  • Peter de Jager, piano,an outstanding young pianist and composer, remarkable not just for his musicianship and skill but also for his artistic curiosity… he is that rare phenomenon, a genuine composer-virtuoso.”
  • Holly Downes, contrabass.Holly is one of the most outstanding musicians I have ever had the privilege to work with, with a multifaceted emerging career that has encompassed classical, avant garde, and folk performances on the double bass, following very much in the diverse career of virtuosos such as Edgar Meyer.”
  • Jessica Fotinos, harp.Jessica is one of the most gifted and imaginative musicians to have studied at the Australian National Academy of Music. She embraces repertoire of all eras with great gusto, plays brilliantly, with great virtuosity and is a wonderful leader.”
  • Matthew Greco, historical violin.Matthew has the potential to be one of Australia’s leading practitioners and teachers in historical performance.”
  • Catherine Gregory, flute.went on a Fulbright Scholarship to New York to continue work. She is currently in the Carnegie Hall Chamber Players, and working as orchestral musician and soloist as well.”
  • Jackie Hansen, bassoon. “ … a particular interest in the Renaissance bassoon.  She stands out from others with a truly surprising sparkling personality.  I can only describe her as a ‘firecracker’!  … a range of interesting and unique projects on the go.”
  • Joshua Hyde, saxophone. “…now based in Paris, where he is carving out a career for himself as one of the most respected new-music saxophone players around.”
  • Dean Newcomb, clarinet. “…Principal Clarinet in Adelaide Symphony Orchestra… a great talent, but also great potential for a standout solo career in music with lots of creative ideas and statements that he will successfully pass on to a large network of other musicians.”
  • Alexander Nicholls, historical cello.I feel that he has an extraordinary career ahead of him.”
  • Hoang Pham, piano. “…he won the Symphony Services International Young Performers Award in 2013.  This is a major achievement as this competition is newly revamped and more challenging to win, including recital, chamber and concerto performances.
  • James Wannan, violist. “…rarely have I encountered a musician so engaged by every detail of a work, and how to realise the totality of that work.”
  • Joshua Webster, percussion, cimbalom. “…a brilliant percussionist, performing in many musical spheres: as a soloist, as a composer/performer, as a chamber musician …   In addition, Joshua is probably Australia’s leading classical performer on the Hungarian cimbalom.”

The nominators will be well known to classical aficionados:

  • Neil Peres da Costa, Chair of Historical Performance, Sydney Conservatorium of Music, harpsichordist, ensemble leader, scholar
  • Paul Dean, Artistic Director, Australian National Academy of Music, clarinettist, soloist, recitalist, chamber musician, Southern Cross Soloists
  • Sophie Emery, Artistic Administrator, Adelaide Symphony Orchestra
  • Elliott Gyger, composer, lecturer Melbourne Conservatorium of Music, University of Melbourne; Inaugural Harvard Walton Fellow
  • Simon Rogers, Manager, Artistic Planning, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra
  • Michael Sollis, Artistic Director, The Gryffin Ensemble, composer, researcher, educator, ACT Manager for Musica Viva
  • Jack Symonds, Music Director, Sydney Chamber Opera, composer, conductor, pianist
  • Vanessa Tomlinson, head of percussion, Queensland Conservatorium of Music, Griffith University, award-winning percussionist,  Artistic Advisor, Clocked Out ensemble
  • Tim White, is association with Linsey Lovering (Musica Viva WA), head of percussion  at WAAPA, former Principal with WA Symphony Orchestra, former Musical Director, National Music Camp.

CLASSICAL JUDGES. The judges for 2014 are Benjamin Schwartz, Director of Artistic Planning for the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Stephen Mould, conductor and head of opera at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, and Kathy Selby, pianist, chamber ensemble leader and entrepreneur.

Copyright The Music Trust © 2022