2016 Freedman Classical Fellowship Finalists Announced | The Music Trust

Freedman Classical Fellowship Finalists Announced

The three finalists of the prestigious 2016 Freedman Classical Fellowship have today been announced.  The annual Fellowship awards one classical instrumentalist of up to 30 years of age with a scholarship of $20,000 to undertake a career-enhancing creative project.

The 2016 finalists are violist Stefanie Farrands, percussionist Kaylie Melville and pianist Alex Raineri. For the first time in the Fellowship’s fifteen year history, the winner will be announced on Saturday 17th September at a first-ever Finals Concert in Eugene Goosens Hall hosted by Russell Torrance, at ABC Ultimo.

Making the difficult decision  are esteemed judges Professor Matthew Hindson AM, Australian composer and educator, Claire Edwardes, Artistic Director and award winning percussionist and Timothy Matthies, Director of Artist Development, Musica Viva Australia.

“This is a milestone year for the Freedman Classical Fellowship. Our partnership with ABC Classic FM brings the brilliance of the finalists’ live performance to an audience for the first time,” said Dr Richard Letts, Director The Music Trust. “We are also delighted that the finalists’ proposed projects include multiple benefits for a range of Australian composers and performers.”

If successful, Stefanie Farrand plans to commission three new chamber music works for viola and other instruments by Australian composers, then perform and record these works with highly regarded Australian musicians, based both in Australia and in Europe.

Percussionist Kaylie Melville will seek to develop her international profile specialising in contemporary and experimental music performance by commissioning Wreak, a major new work for solo percussion, live electronics and animation. Kaylie will collaborate with composer and sound artist Gemma Peacocke (NZ/USA) and animator Timothy Armstrong (NZ/DE) to create an ambitious hour-long show that will highlight the virtuosity of percussion and explore new technology in contemporary music.

Pianist Alex Raineri has proposed undertaking further tuition in UK, Italy and Austria. He then plans to commission and workshop three new Australian works for solo piano, program five self-commissioned Australian words and record a CD of commissions for independent release and digital distribution.  The culmination of his project will be a performance tour throughout Australia and New Zealand performing these new Australian works.

Previous winners of the Freedman Classical Fellowship include some of Australia’s leading soloists: percussionists Timothy Constable, Claire Edwardes and Eugene Ughetti, oud player Joseph Tawadros, guitarists Geoffrey Morris and Karin Schaupp, recorder player Genevieve Lacey, didgeridoo player William Barton, violinist Kristian Winther, flautist Lina Andonovska, clarinettist Ashley Smith, pianist Tamara Anna Cislowska and  pianist/composer Peter de Jager.  2015 winner was clarinettist Aviva Endean.

The Freedman Classical Fellowship is funded by the Freedman Foundation, which assists talented young Australians in the arts and supports important medical and scientific research.  The Fellowships for Classical Music and Jazz are managed by The Music Trust and administered by Sydney Improvised Music Association (SIMA).

Freedman Classical Fellowship Awards

Saturday 17 September, 7:30pm

Eugene Goosens Hall, ABC Studios, Harris St, Ultimo

Free Admission, Booking link:  https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/2016-freedman-classical-fellowship-finalists-concert-tickets-27246838026

Copyright The Music Trust © 2023