Freedman Classical Fellowship for 2017


Nominations have been received for the 2017 Classical Fellowship.


  1. Glenn Cristiansen, violin
  2. James Huntingford, fortepiano
  3. Matthew Kneale, bassoon
  4. Annie Marjery Gard, period violin
  5. Tamara Koelher, flute
  6. Lachlan O’Donnell, violin
  7. Jaan Pallandi, double bass
  8. Alex Raineri, piano
  9. Thea Rosen, percussion
  10. Phoebe Russell, double bass
  11. Matthias Schack-Arnott, percussion
  12. Emily Sheppard, violin
  13. Katie Yap, viola
  14. One more to come

Stefanie Farrands is the Freedman Classical Fellow of 2016-7.

Instruments represented

  • Violin – 4 (one period violin)
  • Viola – 1
  • Double bass – 2
  • Flute – 1
  • Bassoon – 1
  • Percussion – 2
  • Piano – 1
  • Fortepiano – 1


Nominators are distinguished classical musicians from around Australia. The nominators for 2017 are:

  • Lina Andonovska
  • Frank Celata
  • Tobias Cole
  • Paul Dean
  • Melissa Farrow
  • Julia Fredersdorff
  • Iain Grandage
  • Zoe Knighton
  • Simon Rogers
  • Karin Schaupp
  • Ashley Smith

The Freedman Classical Fellowship carries a monetary prize of $20,000. Candidates are no more than 30 years of age on the date of the concert of finalists, September 9.

Candidates submit a recording of their performances and the description of a project that they would execute with the prize money if they win. The project is intended to advance their career, usually internationally. On the basis of the recording and the project, a panel of three judges chooses three finalists.

The finalists perform at a concert organised, hosted and broadcast by ABC Classic FM. The concert will take place this year on September 9 in the Eugene Goossens Hall at ABC HQ in Ultimo, Sydney. Admittance to the concert is free of change. More information will be provided in Loudmouth and on the Fellowship Facebook page, beginning in August.

The Freedman Classical Fellowship is a collaboration between The Music Trust as manager and the Freedman Foundation, which provides the funds. Administration is carried out by SIMA.

There is also a Freedman Jazz Fellowship, which this year follows after the Classical Fellowship.

Freedman New Jazz

– a concert series presenting past Freedman Jazz Fellows.

The third and final concert in the series will feature the

Christopher Hale  Ensemble

Chris Hale

It will take place on Saturday 29 August, Sound Lounge, Seymour Centre, corner of Cleveland St & City Road, Chippendale, Sydney.

Chris Hale is a bass guitarist who has undertaken studies of Korean music. He was the Freedman Jazz Fellow in 2012.

This performance  begins at 8pm with  2010 Freedman Jazz Fellowship winner, guitarist  Ben Hauptmann. Ben is also  widely acclaimed as one of Australia’s finest guitarists.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.